The Ocean Race Europe Jury Decision

Holcim-PRB v Allagrande Mapei and Counter Protest; Request for
Redress by Jury

Protest Parties: Holcim-PRB represented by Alan Roberts; Allagrande Mapei represented by
Ambrogio Beccaria

Witness Allagande Mapei: Hugo Feydit

Observer: Thomas Jullien

Redress Consideration Parties: the above plus other boats represented by Yoann Richomme
(Paprec Arkea), Paul Meilhat (Biotherm), Sterenn Le Sech (Amaala) , Will Harris (Team Malizia)

Facts found

1.

2.

7.

Wind was gusty, 12-22 kts, with flat seas.

Shortly after the start the boats were sailing on a broad reach, with Holcim-PRB 3 lengths
clear ahead and on a course 1.5 length to leeward of Allagrande Mapei, when they were
hit by a strong gust which initially caused both to heel and luff slightly.

Allagrange Mapei had regained a straight course about 2 lengths astern and 1.5 lengths
to windward of Holcim-PRB's course when in the gust Holcim broached, causing her to
luff 15 degrees and slow. During this time, Allagrande Mapei was able to maintain her
speed and direction, which put the boats on collision course.

About 5 seconds later the boats became overlapped. At this time Allagrande Mapei's bow
was about a boat length to windward of Holcim's stern quarter, and the boats’ courses
were converging at an angle of about 15 degrees.

After the boats became overlapped, Holcim-PRB luffed a further 10 degrees, slowing
further. During this time Holcim eased sails and made every effort to bear away. Mapei
held her course and the spectator fleet was more than 8 lengths to windward.

6 - 7 seconds after becoming overlapped, when the boats were bow-level and their bows
were about to collide, there was major contact between the rig appendages amidships
which ripped Allagrande Mapei's genoa in two and made a large hole in Holcim-PRB's
hull, and also caused foil damage and electrical issues.

Both boats retired.

Conclusions

1.

Allagrande Mapei as windward boat failed to keep clear of Holcim-PRB, and broke rules
11 and 14(a). The collision was caused by Allagrande Mapei's failure to take any avoiding
action when she could have safely luffed.

When it became clear that Allagrande Mapei was not keeping clear, it was not possible
for Holcim-PRB to avoid contact. Holcim-PRB therefore did not break rule 14.

By retiring, Allagrande Mapei took an appropriate penalty.



4. Holcimis entitled to redress under rule 61.4(b)(2).
Decision
1. No boatis penalised further.

2. Holcimis given redress. Holcim is scored finishing points in Leg 1 equal to the average
of her finishing points at the finish of Legs 2-5 (see NoR 16.1). As clarification, the
finishing positions at Porto in Leg 2 are not included.

3. However, World Sailing Case 116 applies, and this redress will become effective at the
conclusion of Leg 3.

Decision given on 24/08/25 at 17:00

Andres Perez 1J/IU ESP (Chair), Chris Atkins 1J/1U GBR (Scribe), Sofia Truchanowicz 1J/IU
POL, Corinne Aulnette IJ FRA, Miguel Allen 1J/IU POR



